LaHood, Mellon advance to September special election

Illinois Sen. Darin LaHood and Robert Mellon won the Republican and Democratic primaries, respectively Tuesday, and advanced to the Sept. 10 special election for the 18th Congressional District.

The two are fighting for the right to replace former U.S. Rep. Aaron Schock, who resigned his post earlier this year amidst questions about use of campaign and taxpayer funds.

The National Association of REALTORS® is supporting LaHood, who represents Illinois’ 37th Senate District and serves on the Senate committees on Criminal Law, Executive Appointments, Judiciary, Licensed Activities, Pensions and Revenue.

LaHood, a former federal prosecutor, collected 31,319 votes to defeat Michael Flynn of Quincy (12,559) and Donald Rients of Benson (1,231) for the Republican nomination in the 19-county district, according to the Springfield State Journal-Register. Mellon, a high school teacher, defeated Springfield School Board member Adam Lopez 4,538 to 3,054 to get the Democratic nomination.

REALTORS®: See the reach and power of your IAR

The support of REALTORS® and the rights of private property owners were never more visually evident than the IAR’s “Power of R®” map that recapped the April Consolidated Elections in Illinois.

Counting RPAC-supported candidates, Opportunity Races and Independent Expenditures, IAR supported 58 individuals in local races (40 winners). IAR also campaigned for the defeats of four home rule referenda, the defeat of a real estate transfer tax and the passage of a property tax rebate/sales tax increase.



5 file petitions to succeed Schock; July 7 primary

Aaron Schock

A special primary election to fill the remaining term of Rep. Aaron Schock (R-18 District) who resigned at the end of March, has been slated for July 7.

Monday was the filing deadline for candidates seeking the Republican and Democratic nomination in the special primary. Three Republicans and two Democratic candidates filed their petitions for the ballot.

The candidates:


  • Sen. Darin LaHood (Peoria) – currently a state senator and son of former Rep. Ray LaHood;
  • Michael Flynn (Quincy) – political stategist; and
  • Donald Ray Rients (Benson) – resident from Woodford County.


  • Adam Lopez (Springfield) – member of the Springfield School Board; and
  • Robert Mellon (Quincy) – ran in 2014, high school teacher in Quincy.

The general election for the candidates victorious in the July primary will be held on Sept. 10.

The 18th Congressional District is in central and western Illinois and includes Hancock, McDonough, Adams, Pike, Brown, Schuyler, Scott, Cass, Mason, Menard, Sangamon, Logan, Tazewell, McLean, Woodford, Marshall, Stark and Peoria counties.

Merrinette celebrates Broadview ‘unofficial’ election results and IAR support


Thanks to RPAC advocacy, IAR Government Affairs Director Jeff Merrinette says he is enjoying the ‘unofficial’ victories in the 2015 consolidated elections in Broadview, including four village trustees and a home rule referendum.

Unofficial results released by the Cook County Clerk’s office at 4 p.m. Thursday were tallied by hand, although provisional and late arriving mail ballots will still be included, according to the county clerk’s website.

“It took a federal judge to get these village trustee candidates on the ballot, then special paper ballots for voters to get a choice in candidates,” Merrinette said. “But today, 13 days after Election Day, the voters know who won the election. We celebrate candidates Judy Brown-Marino, John Ealey, Tara Brewer and Diane Little on their election. Oh, and we won the home rule vote 85 (percent) to 15 (percent).

Brown-Marino, Ealey and Brewer won full four-year terms for Broadview village trustee. Little won a two-year unexpired term for Broadview trustee.

REALTORS® and property owners score wins against Home Rule and transfer taxes

Illinois REALTORS® and private property owners were winners at the polls on Tuesday when voters defeated a number of local referenda initiatives that would have raised the cost of buying or selling a home and opened the door to increased local taxation and regulation. The Illinois Association of REALTORS® (IAR) and local REALTOR® associations successfully lobbied against a real estate transfer tax in Midlothian, four Home Rule initiatives and urged voters to support a sales tax in Crestwood.

Midlothian voters reject real estate transfer tax

Voters said NO to a real estate transfer tax on property sales that could have cost sellers $5 on every $1,000 that their home was worth. In other words, if a home sold for $100,000, the seller would owe the village $500 under the proposed tax. DEFEATED

Crestwood voters approve a sales tax to lower property taxes

IAR campaigned in support of a sales tax increase in Crestwood and residents there agreed, voting to approve a 1 percent sales tax increase that will bring in millions of dollars in new revenue and allow the village to provide property tax rebates to homeowners. APPROVED

Home Rule defeated in four Illinois communities

Voters in Broadview (Cook County), McLean (McLean County), Shiloh (St. Clair County), and New Baden (Clinton and St. Clair counties) overwhelmingly voted down Home Rule initiatives in their communities. IAR and local associations campaigned to inform voters about the potential for communities to layer on additional taxes and regulations — without voter approval — with Home Rule powers. DEFEATED