REALTOR® sworn in as Lincoln mayor Monday

Seth Goodman, REALTOR®. Source: ME Realty

REALTOR® Seth Goodman, broker-owner of ME Realty, was sworn in as Lincoln mayor Monday night during the first city council meeting of the new fiscal year.

Goodman won the Republican primary in March and was unopposed in April.

Goodman has been a REALTOR® since 2008, and was named a member of the NAR 30 Under 30 class of top brokers in 2012.


18 REALTORS® won local races

On April 4, 18 REALTORS® won a variety of local races in the Illinois Consolidated Elections, capturing a variety of elected offices, including village president, city clerk, city council, village trustee and township trustee.

All the winners were supported by RPAC:

  • Angie Brix, Champaign City Council;
  • Marilyn D. Glazer, Niles Township Supervisor;
  • Donald J. Gelfund, Niles Township Trustee;
  • Dean Hardt, Belleville Village Trustee;
  • Elizabeth Hellrung, Jarvis Township Trustee;
  • Kristine Klein, Hampshire Village Trustee;
  • Julie Lilly, Taylorville City Clerk;
  • Kimmy Martinez, Hebron Village President;
  • Dan Moroney, Oak Park Village Trustee;
  • Rita O’Connor, Long Grove Village Trustee;
  • Bobbie O’Reilly, Long Grove Village Trustee;
  • Zach Oyler, Peoria City Council;
  • Carol Porter, Volo Village Trustee;
  • Alicia Ruiz, Berwyn Alderman;
  • Renee Saban, Lockport Alderman;
  • Terry Seymour, Godfrey Township Trustee;
  • Stan Sieron, Stookey Township Trustee; and
  • Greg Stock, Champaign City Council.

For more information on the April 4 elections, go here.

12 REALTOR®-backed candidates pick up victories Tuesday

Bigstock images

The unofficial results from Tuesday’s Illinois Consolidated Elections showed 12 victorious candidates out of 19 backed by Illinois REALTORS®’ independent expenditures.

The victorious candidates include:

  • Paul S. Braun, Flossmoor Mayor,
  • Kevin R. Burns, Geneva Mayor,
  • Kevin Michael Coyne, Naperville City Councilman,
  • Ronald Gardiner, Glenwood Village President,
  • Jim Holland, Frankfort Village President,
  • Marty McLaughlin, Barrington Hills Village President,
  • Tom McNamara, Rockford Mayor,
  • Jodi Miller, Freeport Mayor,
  • REALTOR® Zachary Oyler, Peoria At-large City Councilman,
  • Riley Rogers, Dolton Mayor (assisted in primary only),
  • Charles E. Tokar, Chicago Ridge Village President and
  • Mary M. Werner, Worth Village President.

The race for mayor in Mundelein is too close to call with Holly Kim behind by 13 votes but with provisional votes yet to be counted.

In five races, independent expenditure candidates lost:

  • Brooke Hernandez Brewer for Joliet City Council,
  • C. Shawn Jones for Evanston Alderman,
  • Jeffrey Halen for Lake Zurich Village Trustee,
  • John Prigge for Elgin City Council,
  • Jennifer “Jen” Sjoblom for Homewood Village Trustee.

Rockford REALTOR® Frank Gambino was helped by independent expenditure in the primary race for Ward 1 alderman, but he was defeated.



Don’t forget to vote today!

REALTORS® are making their voices heard across the state today as they vote in Illinois consolidated elections.

Polls are scheduled to open at 6 a.m. and close at 7 p.m. Make sure you know where to vote and who the pro-REALTOR® candidates are in your community. Visit the Illinois State Board of Education website. For a list of candidates who have REALTOR® support, as well as the list of four communities where voters will consider Home Rule, go here.


Make your voice heard in local elections tomorrow: vote!

Illinois REALTORS® can vote for local candidates who support private property rights and lower taxes and encourage local business growth, and they can help defeat Home Rule bids in four communities in consolidated elections Tuesday.

For a list of candidates who have received REALTOR® support through independent expenditures and a list of communities who are considering Home Rule, go here. For an brief explanation of why REALTORS® oppose Home Rule, read this.

If you need help finding information about voting registration, locating your election authority and checking to make sure you’re registered to vote, visit the Illinois State Board of Elections website at