KIFAR members share flood insurance concerns with U.S. Rep. Kinzinger in Watseka



U.S. Rep. Adam Kinzinger (16th Congressional District) provided updates on legislative issues like flood insurance, tax reform and housing and answered questions from 15 members of the Kankakee-Iroquois-Ford-Association of REALTORS® (KIFAR) Wednesday in Watseka.

Federal Political Coordinator Ed Neaves led the discussion, which also covered developments with the Federal Housing Administration, Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac. Neaves and his fellow REALTORS® emphasized the importance of extending national flood insurance past the Sept. 30 expiration date, since Watseka is in a flood plain and the National Association of REALTORS® estimates that 40,000 real estate transactions could be affected.

Kinzinger is in his fourth term in the U.S. House of Representatives and his district covers 14 counties in northern Illinois.

Governmental Affairs team watching out for REALTORS® during holiday weekend

Lobbyists Greg St. Aubin and Julie Sullivan won’t be doing any grilling this weekend because they’ll monitoring legislative activity at the State Capitol on behalf of REALTORS® and property owners.

While REALTORS® try to squeeze in a picnic, a barbecue or a sporting event sometime during the Memorial Day weekend, the Illinois REALTORS® statehouse lobbyists are monitoring activity at the State Capitol.

The General Assembly is scheduled to adjourn on May 31 and many bills are under consideration that could affect REALTORS® and property owners they represent. And of course, legislators are also working to resolve the state budget crisis. Since the House is scheduled to meet Sunday and Monday and the Senate is scheduled to meet Monday, lobbyists figure to have a very busy weekend keeping up with advancing legislation.



REALTOR® sworn in as Lincoln mayor Monday

Seth Goodman, REALTOR®. Source: ME Realty

REALTOR® Seth Goodman, broker-owner of ME Realty, was sworn in as Lincoln mayor Monday night during the first city council meeting of the new fiscal year.

Goodman won the Republican primary in March and was unopposed in April.

Goodman has been a REALTOR® since 2008, and was named a member of the NAR 30 Under 30 class of top brokers in 2012.


About 750 REALTORS® attend luncheons, legislative briefings before visiting State Capitol

With the largest crowd ever expected for the annual Capitol Conference & REALTOR® Lobby Day, members attended three luncheons and legislative briefings, one at Illinois REALTORS® headquarters and two within the President Abraham Lincoln Springfield – a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel.

The Chicago Association of REALTORS® gathered at the Illinois REALTORS® headquarters while several central Illinois associations met in the Lincoln Room at the DoubleTree and all others gathered in the Presidential Ballroom of the DoubleTree. With assistance from association leaders, Senior Vice President, Governmental Affairs Greg St. Aubin, Director of Legislative and Political Affairs Julie Sullivan and Manager of Grassroots and Political Programs Neil Malone conducted the legislative briefings.

REALTORS® at the two locations then grabbed bus rides to the State Capitol to meet with their legislative leaders, some planned and some spontaneous.

See photo gallery below.

18 REALTORS® won local races

On April 4, 18 REALTORS® won a variety of local races in the Illinois Consolidated Elections, capturing a variety of elected offices, including village president, city clerk, city council, village trustee and township trustee.

All the winners were supported by RPAC:

  • Angie Brix, Champaign City Council;
  • Marilyn D. Glazer, Niles Township Supervisor;
  • Donald J. Gelfund, Niles Township Trustee;
  • Dean Hardt, Belleville Village Trustee;
  • Elizabeth Hellrung, Jarvis Township Trustee;
  • Kristine Klein, Hampshire Village Trustee;
  • Julie Lilly, Taylorville City Clerk;
  • Kimmy Martinez, Hebron Village President;
  • Dan Moroney, Oak Park Village Trustee;
  • Rita O’Connor, Long Grove Village Trustee;
  • Bobbie O’Reilly, Long Grove Village Trustee;
  • Zach Oyler, Peoria City Council;
  • Carol Porter, Volo Village Trustee;
  • Alicia Ruiz, Berwyn Alderman;
  • Renee Saban, Lockport Alderman;
  • Terry Seymour, Godfrey Township Trustee;
  • Stan Sieron, Stookey Township Trustee; and
  • Greg Stock, Champaign City Council.

For more information on the April 4 elections, go here.