See photos from REALTOR® reception during Capitol Conference and Lobby Day

REALTOR® Keith Hancock and Sen. Bill Brady at the Capitol Conference reception Tuesday afternoon.

Following visits to the State Capitol Tuesday afternoon, hundreds of Illinois REALTORS® jammed the Presidential Ballroom at the President Abraham Lincoln Springfield — a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel for an opportunity to talk with their state legislator.

The reception was the final event during Capitol Conference and REALTOR® Lobby Day, as many members then departed Springfield by bus. In many cases, local associations organized bus trips so that members could work on the rides to and from the event.

Check the photo gallery below to see if you recognize colleagues and legislators who kept the lines of communication open through the dinner hour.

Oak Park Area Association of REALTORS® find signs of support at Capitol Conference

Oak Park Area Association of REALTORS® gather around the Illinois REALTORS® sign headquarters during Capitol Conference and REALTOR® Lobby Day.

Members of the Oak Park Area Association of REALTORS® took a few moments to gather at the Illinois REALTORS® headquarters during Capitol Conference and REALTOR® Lobby Day.

They joined like-minded colleagues from across the state Tuesday at the Luncheon & Legislative Briefing to discuss talking points, then visited their state legislators at the State Capitol to voice their concern or support about bills under consideration by the Illinois House and Senate. Like other Illinois REALTORS®, they held folders with the capital letter R to identify their allegiance to property rights and the real estate industry.

Throughout the day, REALTORS® found encouragement from association lobbyists and from each other. Following the visits, they joined fellow REALTORS® at a reception at the President Abraham Lincoln Springfield — a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel. Invitations were extended to senators and representatives who wanted to meet with constituents for conversation, food and drinks. More than 700 REALTORS® were estimated to participate in the activities.

Photo highlights from 2017 Illinois REALTORS® Lobby Day

REALTORS® Tonya Corder, Chris Read and Piero Orsi at Capitol Conference.

Thanks to the hundreds of Illinois REALTORS® who traveled to Springfield today to for the 2017 Illinois REALTORS® Capitol Conference “REALTOR® Lobby Day.” You make a real difference on the issues important to Illinois homeowners and the real estate industry. See a photo gallery of the day’s highlights. #PowerofR #ILRealtorLobbyDay

Neaves named treasurer-nominee for Illinois REALTORS®

Ed Neaves

Ed Neaves, president of the Bloomington-Normal Association of REALTORS® and an Illinois REALTORS® board member, has been named 2018 treasurer-nominee for the state association.

An Illinois REALTORS® Board of Directors vote is expected to formally place Neaves on the leadership ladder later this year. Neave’s selection by the association’s Nominating Committee was announced Tuesday, April 25, 2017.

Neaves is the managing broker of Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices Snyder Real Estate in Bloomington and is committed to fostering grassroots involvement and political advocacy in the REALTOR® community at the local, state and national level.

Neaves has served on a variety of Illinois REALTORS® committees and working groups, with a particular emphasis on political advocacy. He chairs the Federal Political Coordinators Working Group. He was honored with the 2015 Illinois REALTORS® Political Involvement Award for outstanding political and legislative service to the REALTOR® organization.

He is a major investor in the REALTORS® Political Action Committee (RPAC) and will be inducted into the RPAC Hall of Fame in May. He is the Federal Political Coordinator for U.S. Rep. Adam Kinzinger (R-Channahon) and is the State Legislative Contact for Illinois Sen. Jason Barickman (R-Bloomington).

Once the nominating committee’s selection is sanctioned by the association’s board of directors, Neaves will join other Illinois REALTOR® leaders in 2018, including Matt Difanis, who will become president; Dan Wagner, who will become president-elect and Doug Carpenter, who will be immediate past president.