Legal Minutes – Multiple Offer Situations from the Buyer’s Side


In the newest installment of our Legal Minutes video series, Betsy Urbance, Director of Legal Services at Illinois REALTORS®, takes you through the many legal and ethical issues REALTORS® face when representing a buyer in a multiple offer situation.

Click here, or on the picture to view the video (login required).

Buy ROTY Banquet tickets now for June 6 event

Order tickets now for the 36th Annual REALTOR® of the Year Banquet, scheduled for June 6 at the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Museum in Springfield.

Sue Miller

The event will honor the accomplishments of 24 local association REALTORS® of the Year (ROTY) and the Illinois REALTOR® of the Year Sue Miller, managing broker for Coldwell Banker The Real Estate Group, in McHenry. The reception begins at 6:30 p.m., followed by dinner at 7:15 p.m. The deadline for ordering tickets is May 30. Tickets are $75 each.

Place your order online or use the ticket order form now.

Among those being honored are:

Dan Slagell of RE/MAX Choice, Bloomington is being honored by the Bloomington-Normal Association of REALTORS®. He’s served as a member of REALTOR® Land Institute, a state committee member and for many years on several local committees. He holds Certified Agent Real Estate Investor (CARI) and Certified Distressed Property Expert (CDPE) designations.

Michael Oldenettel of RE/MAX Professionals, Springfield will represent the Capital Area REALTORS®. He is an RPAC Hall of Famer, has served as Illinois REALTORS® 2013 president and Jacksonville Area Association of REALTORS® president. He serves as a Capital Area and NAR director and on local, state and national committees.

Mac Boyd of Farmers National Company, Arcola, is ROTY for the Central Illinois Board of REALTORS®. Boyd, who died last December, was an RPAC Hall of Famer, three-time chair of Illinois REALTORS® Political Fundraising Committee, member of the association’s board of directors and chair of the Professional Standards Committee. He was known for his encyclopedic knowledge of Illinois farmland.

The banquet is jointly sponsored by the Illinois REALTORS® and the Illinois Real Estate Educational Foundation (REEF).


As April 1 app deadline nears, past REEF scholarship winners thankful

Less than 10 days remain for Illinois REALTORS® and their college-aged sons, daughters, grandsons and granddaughters to fill out applications and supporting documents for six Real Estate Educational Foundation (REEF) scholarships with April 1 application deadlines.

The scholarships affected are the:

  • James M. Kinney Scholarship;
  • Richard “Dick” Wiegers Scholarship;
  • Academic Scholarship;
  • Thomas F. Seay Scholarship;
  • Morgan L. Fitch Scholarship; and the
  • George Patt Scholarship Fund.

As the deadline nears for those aiming for 2017-18 scholarships, two recipients of the James M. Kinney Scholarships for 2016-17 say the financial assistance has been helpful during their first year of college.


Cole Cunningham of Danville says: “The scholarship awarded to me by the Real Estate Educational Foundation has helped me pursue my goal of becoming a medical doctor in various ways. The most prominent of which is the subsidization of the cost of textbooks that are essential for my coursework. Currently, I am a first-year student at the University of Illinois at Chicago pursuing a bachelor of science degree in Neuroscience.”


Madeline Sale of Chatham says: “I am very grateful to have received the 2016-2017 James M. Kinney Scholarship. The money I received helped me pay for my tuition at Miami University in Oxford, Ohio. I will soon be completing my freshman year as a biology major with a comparative religion minor. In the future, I plan to attend graduate school to become a physician’s assistant. On campus, I am involved in Pre-PA Club, MedLIfe, Alpha Delta Pi sorority, a leadership fraternity and a small church group. During my time left at Miami, I plan to study abroad in Europe and to participate in a medical mission trip through MedLife. The James M. Kinney Scholarship has assisted me as I explore these interests and begin planning for the future.”

REALTORS® who want to apply for REEF scholarships or who have children or grandchildren that want to apply for the Kinney scholarship should visit this page for more information.

Oct. 1 deadline looms for three REEF scholarships

Calendar on white background. 1 October. 3D illustration.


Illinois REALTORS® applying for three scholarships through the Illinois Real Estate Education Foundation (REEF) must complete their applications and submit them by Oct. 1.

The deadline applies to the Dan Bock Scholarship, the Past Presidents Scholarship and the Roxanne Malo Leadership Scholarship. Applications for a fourth scholarship, the Rich Port Scholarship, are received on an ongoing basis without a deadline.

New in 2016 — Dan Bock Scholarship

Following the death of Lincoln-area REALTOR® Dan Bock in April 2015, the Dan Bock Scholarship was established on June 20 this year. It’s designed to help licensed REALTORS® who have their GRI Designation to attend the Graduate, REALTOR® Institute (GRI) of Illinois. The maximum award is $500. Get the application.

Past Presidents Scholarship

Illinois REALTORS® who are pursuing their Certified Residential Broker (CRB), Certified International Property Specialist (CIPS), Certified Commercial Investment Member(CCIM) or REALTOR® Association Certified Executive (RCE) designations can qualify for up to $500 in scholarships to cover tuition, reimbursement for actual expenses incurred, including hotel expenses and meals. Get the application.

Roxane Malo Leadership Scholarship

Illinois REALTORS® who want to expand their leadership skills in a real estate related field can use scholarships to further their education at a junior college, college or university. The maximum award amount is $500. Get the application.

Rich Port Scholarship has no deadline

Those pursuing the GRI designation can apply for the Rich Port Scholarship and receive up $300 for tuition and reimbursement of actual expenses. Applications are ongoing with no deadline. To be eligible, applicants must be licensed as real estate agent for a year, work in Illinois and must be an Illinois resident. They must also complete the first 30 hours of GRI. Get the application.


Deadline for several REEF educational scholarships is Oct. 1

Since 2000, the Illinois Real Estate Educational Foundation (REEF) has awarded scholarships totaling $450,000 to students of real estate and related fields of study. Oct. 1, 2015 is the application deadline for three scholarships: the Rich Port Scholarship, the Past Presidents Scholarship and the Roxane Malo Leadership Scholarship.

  • Rich Port Scholarship – This scholarship helps licensed real estate agents in Illinois attend the Graduate, REALTOR® Institute (GRI) of Illinois.
  • Past Presidents Scholarship – This scholarship is for Illinois residents and members of the Illinois Association of REALTORS® to pursue their GRI (Graduate REALTOR® Institute), CRB (Certified Residential Broker), CIPS (Certified International Property Specialist), CCIM (Certified Commercial Investment Member), or RCE (REALTOR® Association Certified Executive) designation.
  • Roxane Malo Leadership Scholarship – This scholarship is awarded to one or more selected individual(s) for the continuation and expansion of their leadership skills in a real estate related field.

Click here to download an application. Learn more about these and other Illinois Real Estate Educational Foundation scholarships at