5 reasons I love the RAFV Reverse Raffle

RAFV AE Chris Studebaker (foreground) picks a number from the gold drum while Lucas Albright checks the board during the Reverse Raffle.

The Second Annual REALTORS® Political Action Committee RPAC Reverse Raffle produced many positives for the REALTOR® Association of the Fox Valley (RAFV) on Oct. 26. In fact, after discussing it with RPAC Fundraising Manager Kim Buscher, I came up with five great reasons why I love the reverse raffle:

  1. Suspense – Instead of a traditional raffle’s single moment of surprise, the reverse raffle creates a night of excitement. Throughout the night, the 500 participants are eliminated until one $5,000 winner remains.
  2. Friends and colleagues – or “frolleagues” (a term I just coined). As member outreach manager, I travel all over the Northern Illinois and I love catching up with all of my RAFV friends at this event. From the RAFV staff to the unbelievably fun RPAC Committee, MRED team and participating REALTORS®, it is a casual atmosphere to network and catch up with some great Fox Valley folks.
  3. Food – I love food. The reverse raffle has such great food that the first year they ran out. Last night there was plenty. The chips and guac are my vice; sorry that I ate it all.
  4. Fulfilling my MI Pledge – It is late in the year and I still have (gulp) how many hundreds to go on my MI pledge? Are there any state raffles left? Any auctions? The RAFV Reverse Raffle is held late in the year and is the perfect way to fulfill the remaining balance on an MI pledge! Whew.
  5. Home by 9:30 – Okay this may not apply to everyone, but I’m a Ben Franklin when it comes to my sleep habits. I had a blast last night and was still home by 9:30 p.m. with plenty of time to get all my beauty sleep.

Are you sad you missed the RAFV reverse raffle or already ready to get it on your calendar for next year? Have no fear, I’m sure association executive Chris Studebaker will be ready to sell tickets in no time.

(Disclaimer: The Illinois REALTORS® Political Action Committee (RPAC) solicits contributions from Illinois REALTORS® members only.)

Illinois REALTORS® meets mobile alert goal

(Figures updated at 2 p.m. Aug. 1)

Thanks to more than 450 recent registrants for REALTOR® Party mobile text alerts, the total number of Illinois REALTORS® who receive them has reached 6,863, according to the NAR.

Subscribers to the mobile alerts receive a text message reminder when NAR issues a Call for Action on critically important legislation and makes responding even easier. Illinois REALTORS® is among the largest state associations to reach the benchmark so far. Today’s NAR report showed 12 states — including Illinois — surpassed their annual goals.

“Reaching this milestone after only seven months is fantastic,” says Christopher Tenggren, 2017 chair of the REALTORS® Political Involvement Committee and an associate at RE/MAX All Pro in St. Charles. “It is a tribute to the character of our members. REALTORS® take great pride protecting the rights of private property owners and helping their local communities grow. REALTORS® who sign up for mobile text alerts and respond to calls for action recognize the power we have when we communicate together.”

Members who have not yet subscribed to the REALTOR® Party Mobile Alerts may do so by texting the word “REALTORS” to 30644.

To learn more about the program, and to see how Illinois stacks up against other states, go to the Action Center’s page.


VIDEO: RPAC Hall of Fame and Illinois REALTOR® of the Year ceremonies

At this week’s June business meetings, Illinois REALTORS® honored several of its members in two ceremonies.

Monday, eight REALTORS® were inducted into the RPAC Hall of Fame for attaining a lifetime giving level of $25,000. Six additional RPAC Hall of Fame inductees achieved $50,000 in lifetime giving. Additionally, Illinois REALTORS® CEO Gary Clayton was honored for achieving the $75,000 threshold.

Tuesday night was the Illinois REALTOR® of the Year banquet at the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum. Sue Miller, Managing Broker of Coldwell Banker-the Real Estate Group in McHenry, Illinois, was named Illinois REALTOR® of the Year. Along with Miller, 24 other REALTORS® of the Year from local associations throughout Illinois were recognized.

Illinois REALTORS® inducts eight into its RPAC Hall of Fame; 7 others honored too

Veteran Hall of Fame members joined new inductees for a group toast following the induction ceremony Monday night at the Illinois REALTORS® headquarters.

The Illinois REALTORS® inducted eight new members into its REALTORS® Political Action Committee (RPAC) Hall of Fame Monday and celebrated new milestone levels reached by seven previously inducted Hall of Fame members.

The eight inductees are:

  • Philip Chiles of Springfield (2014 president);
  • Colleen Clavesilla of Crystal Lake (2001 president);
  • Dana Hybl of Carol Stream (2012 Board of Directors and numerous committees);
  • David L. McClintock, of New Lenox (CEO Three Rivers Association of REALTORS®);
  • Edwin Neaves of Bloomington (2016 Political Involvement Award recipient);
  • Ed Prodehl of Burr Ridge (multiple terms on Board of Directors);
  • Millie Rosenbloom of Chicago (Board of Directors); and
  • Norm Willoughby of Decatur (Association Executive of Central Illinois Board of REALTORS® and Decatur Association of REALTORS®) .

To become state Hall of Fame inductees, REALTORS® have to invest at least $25,000 in RPAC. In May, the National Association of REALTORS® honored all eight with induction into the NAR Hall of Fame.

Seven reach new RPAC investment tiers

Illinois REALTORS® CEO Gary L. Clayton was celebrated for donating more than $75,000 to RPAC during his career leading one the nation’s largest state real estate groups. Clayton has headed the association since 1983.

Six other people from Illinois were honored for investing at least $50,000 in RPAC:

  • Doug Carpenter (President) of Mokena;
  • John C. Kmiecik of Palos Park (2004 president);
  • Pam Krieter of Franklin Park (interim CEO of the Mainstreet Organization of REALTORS®);
  • Lynn Madison of Schaumburg (2016 REALTOR® of the Year);
  • Piero Orsi of Long Grove (Board of Directors);
  • Rob Wigton of Edwardsville (CEO of the Greater Gateway Association of REALTORS®).

All seven REALTORS® celebrated were honored at the NAR Legislative Meetings, too.

Check the photo gallery below for more images from the event.


Capital Area REALTORS® get third consecutive annual RPAC award

(l to r) John Klemm, Phil Chiles, Dan Sale and Ed Mahoney.

On the strength of its participation rate and number of major investors, the Capital Area REALTORS® finished second in RPAC fundraising for medium-sized local associations during 2016, according to an announcement last week at the NAR RPAC Awards Ceremony in Washington, D.C.

The “Award of Excellence” came for raising $62,138 in 2016, achieving a 77 percent participation rate with more than 6 percent of its members (41) as major investors, said CAR CEO Dan Sale. CAR had a first place in 2015 and a second place in 2014. NAR began the program three years ago.

“These numbers illustrate that we have really begun to develop a culture of RPAC giving,” said Sale. “We certainly appreciate the recognition as it validates all of our hard work and serves as a source of pride for our volunteers, staff and members. However, the real satisfaction comes seeing the impact we are all collectively able to make at city hall, the state capital and Washington, D.C.”

The Capital Area REALTORS® were represented at the ceremony by President John Klemm, President-elect Ed Mahoney, Government Affairs Chairman Phil Chiles and Sale. Also recognized at the ceremony were first, second and third place award winners for different size local and state associations.

(The REALTORS® Political Action Committee (RPAC) solicits contributions from Illinois REALTORS® members only.)